The Anxiety Disorders SIG officers are professionals and researchers from the field of psychology dedicated to the study of anxiety and related topics.

The staff of ANXSIG has changed throughout the years, but our dedication and enthusiasm towards the study of anxiety disorders remains constant. If you would like to contact a particular member, please refer to his or her contact information below. For inquiries related to the SIG itself, such as submission dates and membership, please contact the President. A list of previous staff can be found here.

List of Current Officers


Sarah Staats, M.A.
Psychology Intern, VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Ph.D. Candidate in Clinical-Community Psychology
Wichita State University, Wichita, Kansas

Newsletter Editor

Maria Karekla, Ph.D.
University of Cyprus
PO Box 20537
1678 Nicosia, Cyprus

Treasurer (Receives Payments)

Laurel Sarfan, M.A.
Miami University
90 N. Patterson Ave.
Oxford, OH 45224


Sara J. Kertz, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University
281 Life Science II, Mailcode 6502
Carbondale, IL 62901
Phone: 618.453.3551

Web Editor

Shawn D. White, M.A.
Department of English
Eastern Kentucky University
Phone: 214.724.7441

Advisory Board

Martin M. Antony, Ph.D.
Professor / Graduate Program Director
Ryerson University
350 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario

David H. Barlow, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry
Boston University
121 Bay State Road Boston, MA 02215

Michelle Craske, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology & Psychiatry
University of California at Los Angeles
Franz Hall - Box 951563
Los Angeles, CA 90094-1563

Bethany A. Teachman, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Psychology
University of Virginia
102 Gilmer Hall, Charlottesville, VA 22904